Ildikó Boldizsár: Cinderella’s Facebook Profile

boldizsarildiko1

“The tales contain everything – all the things that exist, have ever existed or could have existed.„

Ildikó Boldizsár is one of the best-known and best-selling non-fiction and children’s books authors. Her book entitled Story Therapy was published 10 years ago and about 50.000 copies were sold of it. She regularly has performances and storytelling events all over the world, more than 100 times a year. These occasions and her therapeutic sessions and trainings are very popular with thousands of hearers,participants and patients.

The aim of Ildikó Boldizsár’s work is to show the people of the 21st century the ancient stories can help them to find a way out of difficult situations. Currently she is working on her most popular book in order to adapt it to our time. The current version entitled Cinderella’s Facebook Profile from which the translated excerpt is attached, offers methods with which we ourselves can solve the problems in our lives. In order to teach and heal an ancient knowledge is used so that can answer the challenges of our time. The new and rewritten version of the book will be published in 2018 by the Jelenkor Kiadó. The attached English excerpt contains approximately 40% of the book’s content. The proposal contains the table of contents, an introduction to the Story Therapy Method and gives examples to the self-healing as well.

Anja Schmidt (Arkana Publishing / Verlagsgruppe Random House Gmbh) has just acquired in a pre-empt the German rights.

Download the excerpt by clicking here: IBoldizsar_Cinderellas_excerpt

ILDIKÓ BOLIZSÁR, THE STORYTELLER

In the course of my work, I have told stories to people under the most extraordinary array of circumstances. I have told stories to babies still in the womb, to women in labor, to children yearning to understand the world around them, to teenagers yearning to understand themselves, to young adults fearing both divorce and commitment, to mature men and women, and to the dying. I have told stories at funerals and at weddings. I have told stories in prisons, reform centers, orphanages, institutes for the blind, libraries, banks, schools, university seminars, and hospitals. Stories have helped me come to know all walks of life, and in each walk of life I have told different stories to people beset with woe, as the circumstances and the person him or herself demanded. For no matter what I come across in life, a moment of joy or sadness, hope or grief, it always reminds me of a story. The most decisive part of my everyday life has been oral storytelling. Ever since, as an ethnographer, I first heard a genuine storyteller recounting tales, I have had an unquenchable desire to pass on stories myself, in a similar way.”

boldizsarildiko4

ILDIKÓ BOLDIZSÁR, THE WRITER

“I love to write. I write by hand, and I always buy an distinctive notebook for each individual manuscript. My first book, Amália álmai – Mesék a világ legszomorúbb boszorkányáról (“Amalia’s Dreams – Tales about the Saddest Witch in the World”) was published in 1991. It was followed by A Fekete Világkerülő (“The Black Vagabond”) in 1997. In 2007, Boszorkányos mesék (“Witch Tales”) was published, a selection of stories from my first two books. In 2009, Királylány születik (“A Princess is Born”) was published, followed in 2011 by Királyfi születik (“A Prince is Born”). “A Princess is Born” has been translated into French and Polish. In 2015, I wrote two books of tales for children in the care of the state, Mesék a cicáról, aki nem tudott nyávogni (“Tales of the Cat Who Couldn’t Meow”) for children between the ages of three and six and Az Ég otthona (“The Sky’s Home”) for children between the ages of eight and ten. In 2016, two of my books of tales were published, Az elveszett madártoll (“The Lost Quill”) and Bobó gyermekkora (“Bobo’s Childhood”). I consider myself a storyteller, including when I am putting together collections of stories. In autumn 2017, my twenty-seventh collection of tales will be published.”

ILDIKÓ BOLDIZSÁR, STORY-THERAPIST

“I began to work as a story-therapist in 1996. I went to hospitals to tell stories to children and adults, and I gained a great deal of experience that I was later able to use in my practice as a therapist. After having spent some fifteen years pursuing research on theoretical aspects of storytelling, I began to take an increasing interest in the practical uses of stories. After another decade of first-hand experience, I developed the Metamorphosis Story Therapy Method, which I presented in a book that was published in 2010 for people who use this method in their work (for instance, in hospitals, educational counsels, schools, prisons, and psychotherapeutic consultations). In 2016, I opened the Metamorphosis Story Therapy Center, where I hold various training courses, individual consultations, and storytelling group meetings primarily for adults, though we also organize camps for children and youths in which we address a variety of subjects.”

boldizsarildiko2

ILDIKÓ BOLDIZSÁR, SCHOLAR, RESEARCHER, AND TEACHER 

“I began my career as a budding scholar of stories. I was a postgraduate student in the Institute of Ethnology of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. In 1999, I completed my doctorate in ethnography. In my dissertation, I examined the relationships between ancient tales of magic and the tales of our day. Later, I began to work exclusively with folk tales, but in 2016 I started studying contemporary stories again. I have taught in many places and continue to teach today. I have never counted the number of books I have edited and compiled, but on the basis of a quick glance at my bookshelves, I would say somewhere between two hundred and three hundred.”

ILDIKÓ BOLDIZSÁR’S RECEPTION IN THE PRESS

“Boldizsár strives ‘always to remain faithful to the inner truth of the story, a truth which stems entirely from itself.’ She does not seek to encumber stories with restrictive elucidations, nor does she wish to read anything into them that is only meaningful from the perspective of her life. For stories, she suggests, can only be understood if we concentrate on improving ourselves and our lives.” – Magyar Nemzet

“Ildikó Boldizsár’s texts are tremendously rich in linguistic inventiveness, and her vocabulary overflows with lyrical turns and evocative images. Colors play an important role in her works, scents come to life, and as plants from the real world come alive, a dream world inhabited by fairies is born.” – litera.hu

“Ildikó Boldizsár endeavors both to lay the theoretical foundations of a field that is relatively unfamiliar in Hungary and to summarize her experiences as a practitioner in this field. The essence of her Metamorphosis Story Therapy Method is that, with the help of stories, the therapist can ‘guide the patient to a place where he can recognize and attain everything he desires (…) and make everything around him that is not functioning as it should function properly again.’”–Magyar Narancs

Click here to download: IBoldizsar_Cinderellas_excerpt

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

